Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Reviews

Canon EOS 200d Mark ii Review with Pros and Cons

Canon EOS 200d Mark ii Review

Canon is a big name in the camera industry, the company is launching a new and unique camera at a budget price as well as in the premium price range.

The company has launched several DSLRs under EOS branding and in recent cases, they have launched Canon EOS 200d Mark ii, Rebel SL3, EOS 250D, or Kiss X10, depending on where in the world you live.

The Canon EOS 200d Mark ii is a successor of the Canon EOS 200d which was launched on June 28, 2017, in India. The Canon 200d Mark ii is a budget-centric DSLR that is priced at Rs 46,999 with only a kit lens and if you want a kit lens + Zoom lens then you need to pay around Rs 58,999.

Now if you want to buy this DSLR then it’s available on almost every E-commerce website as well as in the Canon Ofical store but before buying this DSLR let’s do the in-depth review of the Canon 200d Mark ii with pros and cons, so you can decide whether this DSLR is for you or not?

Built Quality & Design

Canon 200d Mark ii Review

The Canon 200d Mark ii weight is about 449 grams which are very good for any DSLR, by the way, the Canon 200d weight is 453 gram which is also good.

Canon has used plastic built, so yes there is no metal or even aluminum used on this DSLR.

If you have used any DSLR from canon before then I must say you will feel quite comfortable while using this DSLR.

By the way, the buttons are also placed in the right place, so there is no issue while taking photos or even shooting videos.

The shutter button can be found towards the front on the top, while there’s a dial for tweaking shutter speed before it.

If you look closely then you can clearly say that it’s identical to the Canon 200d because Canon hasn’t changed the design or even built on this new Canon 200d Mark ii, by the way, the DSLR has a logo that says “EOS 200d ii” so you can identify whether it’s EOS 200 or Canon 200d Mark ii.

Canon EOS 200d Mark ii Review Image01

Talking about placement, the Mic port is placed on the left side and the HDMI & Mico USB port is placed on the right side.

Now comes the tricky part, the battery is placed on the bottom side, so if you have mounted this DSLR on a tripod and if your battery is run out then you need to take out the DSLR from the tripod to change the battery.

Another thing is, that the SD card slot is also with the battery, so one way or another, you need to unmount the tripod.

I would say, this is a very bad design because the SD card & battery is the main thing in any DSLR and you need to change those two things when it runs out.

Canon EOS 200d Mark ii Review Image02

Another thing, the MIC placement is also not placed in the right place because if you want to flip the display then you need to be very careful because when you flip the display, the 3.5mm audio jack block the area, so you can’t flip the screen very easily.

So if you’re using a DSLR for the first time then try not to break the display. Overall, apart from those a problem, there is nothing wrong with the design or even with built quality.

Canon 200d Mark ii UI

The Software or UI is a little bit different from Canon 200d because Company has added some new features to it and they have changed the setting placement.

So if you have used any Canon DSLR before then you won’t get any problems but if you haven’t then it may take some time to get used to.

Now talking about some camera settings, it has almost everything from canon 200D but with Canon 200d mark ii, you can choose between MPEG-4, and H.264 with IPB compression, it also has Dual Pixel CMOS AF3 (Max. 3975 points selectable). Now the Movie resolution is 3840 x 2160 at 25p (approx. 120 Mbps).

Overall, it’s not that complicated UI.

Camera Performace

Before I talk about Camera Performance, let me show you the difference between Canon 200d and Canon 200D Mark ii.

Canon EOS 200d Mark iiCanon ESO 200d
Launch Date10 April 201929 June 2017
Camera Resolution24.1 megapixels24.2 megapixels
Image processorDIGIC 8DIGIC 7
Focus systemTTL-SIR phase-difference detection with dedicated AF sensorTTL-SIR phase-difference detection with dedicated AF sensor
AF points for viewfinder shooting99
Live View focusingDual Pixel CMOS AF3 (Max. 3975 points selectable)Dual Pixel CMOS AF
Shooting modesScene Intelligent Auto, P, Tv, Av, M, Creative Filters, SCNPortrait, Group Photo, Landscape, Sports, Kids, Close-up, Food, Candlelight, Night Portrait, Handheld Night Scene, HDR Backlight Control
Picture Style/Control settingsAuto, Standard, Portrait, Landscape, Fine Detail, Neutral, Faithful, Monochrome, User Defined (x3)Auto, Standard, Portrait, Landscape, Fine Detail, Neutral, Faithful, Monochrome, User Defined (x3)
Movie FormatMPEG-4, H.264 with IPB compressionMP4
ISO rangeISO 100 – 25600; expansion to ISO 51200 availableISO 100 – 25600; expansion to ISO 51200 available
Pop-up flashGN 9.8GN 9.8
Buffer capacity‘Unlimited’ JPEGs, approx 10 RAW or RAW+JPEG frames‘Unlimited’ JPEGs, approx 6 RAW or RAW+JPEG frames
DisplayVari-angle 3-inch touchscreen LCD with 1.04 million dotsVari-angle 3-inch touchscreen LCD with 1.04 million dots
ConnectivityUSB 2.0, mini-HDMI, 3.5 mm mic jack, the remote control terminalUSB 2.0, mini-HDMI, 3.5 mm mic jack, the remote control terminal
Wi-FiYes, IEEE 802.11b/g/n plus BluetoothYes, IEEE 802.11b/g/n plus Bluetooth
Power supplyLP-E17LP-E17
Battery capacityApprox 700+Approx 600+
Dimensions122.4 x 92.6 x 69.8 mm122.4 x 92.6 x 69.8 mm
Weight (with battery & card)449 grams453 grams
PriceWith Kit Lens: Rs 46,999
Kit Lens + Zoom lens: Rs 58,999
With Kit Lens: Rs 46,550
Kit Lens + Zoom lens: Rs 51,500
Available At[email protected] [email protected]

The Canon EOS 200d Mark ii comes with an all-new Digic 8 processor which ensures that the shooter has smooth performance and will take a far better image than the previous Digic 7 processor.

It also has dual-pixel autofocus technology which will help you to take the best video because it will always focus on your face and will detect whether you’re in a frame or not.

Like his elder brother, this EOS 200D Mark ii is also built for videography, so if you’re into videography, this could be a great pick. The good thing is, if you have any Canon lenses then you can use those lenses in this DSLR, so you don’t need to buy a separate lens for this camera.

Canon has given a Kit lens with a base modal that has built-in image stabilization.

By the way, if you’re taking images from close range then it won’t give you bokeh shots, because the kit lens has an F4.5 aperture. If you want good bokeh shots then you can grab a 50mm lens that has a 1.8 aperture.

Now let me show some images which I have taken on Canon EOS 200d Mark ii…The images are compressed, so if you want to see the original ones then click right, I have uploaded all the images on Google Drive.

This DSLR can also shoot videos in 4K at 25fps, and even with a cropped output, it’s impressive for the price segment it’s operating.

Now if you’re looking for Vlogging DSLR or buying a DSLR for videography then this DSLR could be a great deal under the 50k price range, you can also take some great images because it’s DSLR, so you won’t disappoint. Before you make a decision, let’s talk about battery life.

Battery & Connectivity

The Canon 200d Mark ii has LP-E17 which will give you around 700+ shots in a single charge and you can shoot 1.5 hours of video, now you can either shoot a video for 1.5 hours or take 700+ shots, it’s up to you.

By the way, I haven’t had any issue regarding battery life yet, so if you want to take this camera on a trip then it will last for 1.5 days, it’s a good deal.

Now it depends on you how much time you use this camera in one single day, if you take 700+ photos in an hour then you need to charge the battery again.

Talking about Charing time, if the battery percentage is zero then it will take around 2 hours to charge 100%. By the way, the charging time, I have tested, so it will take exactly 2 hours to charge a 100% battery.

The device comes with Bluetooth 4.1 and Wi-Fi. You can also instantly transfer photos from the camera to your Android or iOS smartphone with the Canon Camera Connect app.

Conclusion

The Canon EOS 200d Mark ii has everything which you are looking for in DSLR, so if your budget is below 50k and looking for DSLR then this can be a great deal. I have told it’s Pros and Cons, so now it’s your decision whether you want to buy Canon 200d Mark ii or not.

Pros

  • User-friendly controls
  • Great image quality
  • Lightweight build
  • Dual Pixel technology
  • Great battery life

Cons

  • Only 9 AF points
  • Cropped output in 4k resolution

If you only want a DSLR for photography then you can skip this DSLR and take a look at Nikon D5600 because it has 27 AF points which will give you a little bit better photography, keep in mind, that you will also lose Dual Pixel technology. So first decide, what you’re looking for in DSLR.

If you ask me, I would say go with Canon EOS 200d Mark ii because you get great videography as well as great image quality, so it’s a win-win situation.

BUY Canon EOS 200D ii

Now still, if you have any questions then do let me know in the comment section below.

Choose wisely…

To get up to date with tech, do follow us on Google News. Whether you want to buy Smartwatch or any other Wearables, do check out WearablesDrop. By the way, want to save money, and get live deals, follow us on telegram. Here is the Telegram discussion Group, see you there

Written By

Yes, I love to write and this is what I do for a living, have fun.

5 Comments

5 Comments

  1. Kishan Harchandani

    September 29, 2020 at 5:20 pm

    Canon 200D Mark 2 is really good camera, it's worth the price. I have one with 80mm kit lens. Your article is very helpful, I am glad I read your article, it helps me to understand my camera a lot more. Thanks.

  2. Soumitra

    June 19, 2022 at 3:18 pm

    Is it good with telephoto lens like 150 -600 mm ?

    • Rahul Makwana

      June 24, 2022 at 10:46 am

      Yes…

  3. Pavan

    July 8, 2022 at 9:32 am

    I want to buy a camera but i am in confusion. Which is better Canon EOS 90d or canon EOS 200d ii

    • Rahul Makwana

      July 13, 2022 at 10:41 am

      No doubt, Canon 90D is better but if you don’t want to spend more money then Canon 200D ii is also a good option, in the end, it depends on your budget.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Save Money!

Want to save money, you can follow topbestinINDIA on Telegram. I will be posting deals every day and you can also chat with me, so if you want to buy something, ask me, will chat about it. See you there

AMAZON.In DISCLOSURE

Links on MobileDrop may earn us a commission (Learn More)

You May Also Like

Advertisement
RealMe GT Neo 3T Review: GOOD & BAD Amazon And Flipkart Sale 2022: Best Smartwatches to Buy Amazon And Flipkart Sale 2022: Best Mobiles to Buy Motorola Edge 30 Ultra 5G Review – Only 1 Problem Motorola Edge 30 Fusion 5G Review: Premium Shi*t
RealMe GT Neo 3T Review: GOOD & BAD Amazon And Flipkart Sale 2022: Best Smartwatches to Buy Amazon And Flipkart Sale 2022: Best Mobiles to Buy Motorola Edge 30 Ultra 5G Review – Only 1 Problem Motorola Edge 30 Fusion 5G Review: Premium Shi*t